Amnesty?

Tell us how to make the site a better place, and we'll pretend the idea was ours all along.....

Moderator: Zulus Thousand of em

mofgimmers
Reliable
Reliable

Amnesty?

Post by mofgimmers » Sun Feb 08, 2009 10:13 am

Okay, this is a passing thought that I haven't thought through at all. I'm full of a cold and my brain isn't functioning on full power...

...but I thought that it might be kinda cool to lift the bans on some previous members of TW (I say some because, say, 'Louise', should never be allowed back). The main reason I think it should be considered is because we should be above holding grudges forever. If a point needed to be made, it's been made by now. Naturally, that's assuming any of our previously banned would want to come back!

Discuss... I guess.
I write words for a living. I play records for a living. Both of these thing should tell you that I'm a failed musician.

FD
Dedicated
Dedicated

Post by FD » Sun Feb 08, 2009 10:19 am

I agree, but I can't see it happening.

Permanent bans are only good for persistent trolls, hateful people...

seanworth
Icon
Icon

Post by seanworth » Sun Feb 08, 2009 10:22 am

I think they have temporary bans in place already. A permanent ban is only done when temporary bans don't work. Not sure how an amnesty will work other than being the final temporary ban plus one.

Worthy4England
Immortal
Immortal

Post by Worthy4England » Sun Feb 08, 2009 10:40 am

My only comment is that surely this is mainly a moderator decision. They have to pick up the bits when some of our guys cause a problem not the general populace (such as myself).

From explanations I've seen posted on here about "the banning process" and why it was applied, the mods seem to have operated within the guidelines set for the site. So that's warnings, more warnings, extra warnings, temporary bans, revocation of temporary bans, warnings, more warnings etc. Bored with it, permanent ban.