Today I'm neither Angry nor Happy about....

If you have a life outside of BWFC, then this is the place to tell us all about your toilet habits, and those bizarre fetishes.......

Moderator: Zulus Thousand of em

Post Reply
Gooner Girl
Legend
Legend
Posts: 8052
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 1:18 pm
Location: Mid Sussex

Re: Today I'm neither Angry nor Happy about....

Post by Gooner Girl » Wed Jun 23, 2021 7:26 pm

TANGODANCER wrote:
Wed Jun 23, 2021 10:04 am
Gooner Girl wrote:
Tue Jun 22, 2021 9:45 pm
Not sure whether to be more gutted today about knocking over a massive tin of paint all over the bedroom carpet, the dog being sick on the sofas or that I trod in a poo (human) when in the swimming pool today teaching year 1 at work.

Tomorrow’s another day…
The "threes" legend strikes again G.G. :shock:
A better 3 today. One of my Under 11 lads took a hatrick of wickets in a row as we smashed Brighton College at cricket! :D

Worthy4England
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 25750
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 6:45 pm

Re: Today I'm neither Angry nor Happy about....

Post by Worthy4England » Thu Jun 24, 2021 12:44 pm

^^ If they weren't in a row, it wouldn't have been a hat trick. :-)

Gooner Girl
Legend
Legend
Posts: 8052
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 1:18 pm
Location: Mid Sussex

Re: Today I'm neither Angry nor Happy about....

Post by Gooner Girl » Thu Jun 24, 2021 3:38 pm

Worthy4England wrote:
Thu Jun 24, 2021 12:44 pm
^^ If they weren't in a row, it wouldn't have been a hat trick. :-)
I know sod all about cricket. If you bowl an over and take 3 wickets but not directly in a row that’s not a hatrick?!

boltonboris
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 13147
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2005 4:27 pm

Re: Today I'm neither Angry nor Happy about....

Post by boltonboris » Thu Jun 24, 2021 4:00 pm

Nope...

Another question. If you bowl 2 wickets on your last 2 balls of your over, but then get a wicket on the 1st ball of your next over (with a bowler in between) is that a hat-trick?
"I've got the ball now. It's a bit worn, but I've got it"

BWFC_Insane
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 29046
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 4:07 pm

Re: Today I'm neither Angry nor Happy about....

Post by BWFC_Insane » Thu Jun 24, 2021 4:02 pm

boltonboris wrote:
Thu Jun 24, 2021 4:00 pm
Nope...

Another question. If you bowl 2 wickets on your last 2 balls of your over, but then get a wicket on the 1st ball of your next over (with a bowler in between) is that a hat-trick?
Yes.

Bruce Rioja
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 37146
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 9:19 pm
Location: Drifting into the arena of the unwell.

Re: Today I'm neither Angry nor Happy about....

Post by Bruce Rioja » Thu Jun 24, 2021 4:27 pm

Worthy4England wrote:
Thu Jun 24, 2021 12:44 pm
^^ If they weren't in a row, it wouldn't have been a hat trick. :-)
Sometimes, you read something and you just let it go. But not you, pal, eh?! :D
May the bridges I burn light your way

Gooner Girl
Legend
Legend
Posts: 8052
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 1:18 pm
Location: Mid Sussex

Re: Today I'm neither Angry nor Happy about....

Post by Gooner Girl » Thu Jun 24, 2021 4:29 pm

Had another two interesting scenarios which probably don’t occur in test match cricket but do in U11 school boy! One lad bowled and hit the bails with the ball going over the batters head but then hittingthe wicket. I assumed not out as a no ball. Boss said I was correct. The other one was bowler running into bowl, seeing the batter out of his crease, stopping and stumping him there and then. Also out but my boss said can cause a bit of controversy as not really cricketing etiquette?!

Prufrock
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 21481
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:51 pm

Re: Today I'm neither Angry nor Happy about....

Post by Prufrock » Thu Jun 24, 2021 6:05 pm

BWFC_Insane wrote:
Thu Jun 24, 2021 4:02 pm
boltonboris wrote:
Thu Jun 24, 2021 4:00 pm
Nope...

Another question. If you bowl 2 wickets on your last 2 balls of your over, but then get a wicket on the 1st ball of your next over (with a bowler in between) is that a hat-trick?
Yes.
Not sure how I feel about it counting if you get 2 in the last two balls of the innings and then at the start of the next (in the same match).
In a world that has decided
That it's going to lose its mind
Be more kind, my friends, try to be more kind.

Prufrock
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 21481
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:51 pm

Re: Today I'm neither Angry nor Happy about....

Post by Prufrock » Thu Jun 24, 2021 6:06 pm

Bruce Rioja wrote:
Thu Jun 24, 2021 4:27 pm
Worthy4England wrote:
Thu Jun 24, 2021 12:44 pm
^^ If they weren't in a row, it wouldn't have been a hat trick. :-)
Sometimes, you read something and you just let it go. But not you, pal, eh?! :D
I thought exactly the same but thought "nah don't write that, you'll look like a d*ck". Me!
In a world that has decided
That it's going to lose its mind
Be more kind, my friends, try to be more kind.

Prufrock
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 21481
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:51 pm

Re: Today I'm neither Angry nor Happy about....

Post by Prufrock » Thu Jun 24, 2021 6:07 pm

Gooner Girl wrote:
Thu Jun 24, 2021 4:29 pm
Had another two interesting scenarios which probably don’t occur in test match cricket but do in U11 school boy! One lad bowled and hit the bails with the ball going over the batters head but then hittingthe wicket. I assumed not out as a no ball. Boss said I was correct. The other one was bowler running into bowl, seeing the batter out of his crease, stopping and stumping him there and then. Also out but my boss said can cause a bit of controversy as not really cricketing etiquette?!
Ahhh the Mankad. Was the batter Jos Buttler?
In a world that has decided
That it's going to lose its mind
Be more kind, my friends, try to be more kind.

Worthy4England
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 25750
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 6:45 pm

Re: Today I'm neither Angry nor Happy about....

Post by Worthy4England » Thu Jun 24, 2021 6:08 pm

Bruce Rioja wrote:
Thu Jun 24, 2021 4:27 pm
Worthy4England wrote:
Thu Jun 24, 2021 12:44 pm
^^ If they weren't in a row, it wouldn't have been a hat trick. :-)
Sometimes, you read something and you just let it go. But not you, pal, eh?! :D
Just trying to help with understanding of the game. :-)

Worthy4England
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 25750
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 6:45 pm

Re: Today I'm neither Angry nor Happy about....

Post by Worthy4England » Thu Jun 24, 2021 6:17 pm

Prufrock wrote:
Thu Jun 24, 2021 6:06 pm
Bruce Rioja wrote:
Thu Jun 24, 2021 4:27 pm
Worthy4England wrote:
Thu Jun 24, 2021 12:44 pm
^^ If they weren't in a row, it wouldn't have been a hat trick. :-)
Sometimes, you read something and you just let it go. But not you, pal, eh?! :D
I thought exactly the same but thought "nah don't write that, you'll look like a d*ck". Me!
Whereas, GG now has a better understanding of how cricket works. ;-)

On backing-up, at the bowlers end, etiquette generally is that you give the batsman a warning where the Umpire can hear it too, so they're in no doubt that you're going to flirt them next go. You might also make the opposing Captain aware you've warned their batsman. Stealing ground is hardly in the spirit of the game. In U11's you'd prolly explain the Laws and give it Not Out, first occurrence. :-)

Gooner Girl
Legend
Legend
Posts: 8052
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 1:18 pm
Location: Mid Sussex

Re: Today I'm neither Angry nor Happy about....

Post by Gooner Girl » Thu Jun 24, 2021 7:11 pm

Worthy4England wrote:
Thu Jun 24, 2021 6:17 pm
Prufrock wrote:
Thu Jun 24, 2021 6:06 pm
Bruce Rioja wrote:
Thu Jun 24, 2021 4:27 pm
Worthy4England wrote:
Thu Jun 24, 2021 12:44 pm
^^ If they weren't in a row, it wouldn't have been a hat trick. :-)
Sometimes, you read something and you just let it go. But not you, pal, eh?! :D
I thought exactly the same but thought "nah don't write that, you'll look like a d*ck". Me!
Whereas, GG now has a better understanding of how cricket works. ;-)

On backing-up, at the bowlers end, etiquette generally is that you give the batsman a warning where the Umpire can hear it too, so they're in no doubt that you're going to flirt them next go. You might also make the opposing Captain aware you've warned their batsman. Stealing ground is hardly in the spirit of the game. In U11's you'd prolly explain the Laws and give it Not Out, first occurrence. :-)
Wasn’t any flirting going on! Was all lads in this game! :wink: I’ll be sure to ask you should I have any more cricketing queries Worthy! :D Not really my sport but I have to umpire (pairs) every summer now!

User avatar
Montreal Wanderer
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 12784
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 12:45 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Today I'm neither Angry nor Happy about....

Post by Montreal Wanderer » Fri Jun 25, 2021 8:08 pm

Gooner Girl wrote:
Thu Jun 24, 2021 4:29 pm
Had another two interesting scenarios which probably don’t occur in test match cricket but do in U11 school boy! One lad bowled and hit the bails with the ball going over the batters head but then hitting wicket. I assumed not out as a no ball. Boss said I was correct.
I don't get this bit. Surely a ball knocking off the bails cannot be a no ball even if bowled at the shortest batsman in the UK. Indeed it would seem if this is so you could get a no ball by throwing yourself on the ground to ensure the ball passes over your head.

I await the comments of our local experts as the game may have changed in the sixty years since I played it.
"If you cannot answer a man's argument, all it not lost; you can still call him vile names. " Elbert Hubbard.

Gooner Girl
Legend
Legend
Posts: 8052
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 1:18 pm
Location: Mid Sussex

Re: Today I'm neither Angry nor Happy about....

Post by Gooner Girl » Fri Jun 25, 2021 8:32 pm

Montreal Wanderer wrote:
Fri Jun 25, 2021 8:08 pm
Gooner Girl wrote:
Thu Jun 24, 2021 4:29 pm
Had another two interesting scenarios which probably don’t occur in test match cricket but do in U11 school boy! One lad bowled and hit the bails with the ball going over the batters head but then hitting wicket. I assumed not out as a no ball. Boss said I was correct.
I don't get this bit. Surely a ball knocking off the bails cannot be a no ball even if bowled at the shortest batsman in the UK. Indeed it would seem if this is so you could get a no ball by throwing yourself on the ground to ensure the ball passes over your head.

I await the comments of our local experts as the game may have changed in the sixty years since I played it.
But if it wasn’t a ball the batter could hit standing in a normal position as it was too high? We called no ball before it hit the stumps. Was weird how it suddenly dropped though.

Worthy4England
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 25750
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 6:45 pm

Re: Today I'm neither Angry nor Happy about....

Post by Worthy4England » Fri Jun 25, 2021 8:46 pm

Montreal Wanderer wrote:
Fri Jun 25, 2021 8:08 pm
Gooner Girl wrote:
Thu Jun 24, 2021 4:29 pm
Had another two interesting scenarios which probably don’t occur in test match cricket but do in U11 school boy! One lad bowled and hit the bails with the ball going over the batters head but then hitting wicket. I assumed not out as a no ball. Boss said I was correct.
I don't get this bit. Surely a ball knocking off the bails cannot be a no ball even if bowled at the shortest batsman in the UK. Indeed it would seem if this is so you could get a no ball by throwing yourself on the ground to ensure the ball passes over your head.

I await the comments of our local experts as the game may have changed in the sixty years since I played it.
It's a no ball above waist height of the striker standing upright at the crease. Think it used to be shoulder at one point.

jimbo
Passionate
Passionate
Posts: 2813
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 9:34 am

Re: Today I'm neither Angry nor Happy about....

Post by jimbo » Fri Jun 25, 2021 9:25 pm

Worthy4England wrote:
Fri Jun 25, 2021 8:46 pm
Montreal Wanderer wrote:
Fri Jun 25, 2021 8:08 pm
Gooner Girl wrote:
Thu Jun 24, 2021 4:29 pm
Had another two interesting scenarios which probably don’t occur in test match cricket but do in U11 school boy! One lad bowled and hit the bails with the ball going over the batters head but then hitting wicket. I assumed not out as a no ball. Boss said I was correct.
I don't get this bit. Surely a ball knocking off the bails cannot be a no ball even if bowled at the shortest batsman in the UK. Indeed it would seem if this is so you could get a no ball by throwing yourself on the ground to ensure the ball passes over your head.

I await the comments of our local experts as the game may have changed in the sixty years since I played it.
It's a no ball above waist height of the striker standing upright at the crease. Think it used to be shoulder at one point.
That’s the correct rule. I think it used to be waist height for quick bowlers, shoulder for slow bowlers, but has since moved to waist for all.

Gooner Girl
Legend
Legend
Posts: 8052
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 1:18 pm
Location: Mid Sussex

Re: Today I'm neither Angry nor Happy about....

Post by Gooner Girl » Fri Jun 25, 2021 9:43 pm

So go on then cricket experts, without googling, what are the 10 ways you can get out in cricket?!

BWFC_Insane
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 29046
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 4:07 pm

Re: Today I'm neither Angry nor Happy about....

Post by BWFC_Insane » Fri Jun 25, 2021 10:36 pm

Gooner Girl wrote:
Fri Jun 25, 2021 9:43 pm
So go on then cricket experts, without googling, what are the 10 ways you can get out in cricket?!
Caught
Bowled
Stumped
LBW
Run Out
Hit wicket
Handled the ball
Obstructing the fielding side
Deliberately striking the ball twice

Honestly cannot remember tenth…grr

dave the minion
Promising
Promising
Posts: 304
Joined: Sat May 14, 2016 9:41 pm

Re: Today I'm neither Angry nor Happy about....

Post by dave the minion » Sat Jun 26, 2021 8:31 am

Running out of time/innings ending???
Image

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests