In two minds

If you have a life outside of BWFC, then this is the place to tell us all about your toilet habits, and those bizarre fetishes.......

Moderator: Zulus Thousand of em

plymouth wanderer
Icon
Icon

In two minds

Post by plymouth wanderer » Wed May 04, 2016 9:58 am

Hi all

I'm after some advice please regarding claiming for an accident (sort of)

I'm a spray painter, I use solvent based paints, so its pretty nasty stuff! I have massive industrial fans fitted in my workshop but I have always struggled to get the correct PPE! boots, HI-vis is gear fine! But I was spraying for the first 8 months with a mask but not a air fed jobby! My employer kept promising me from day one that they were gonna get me one but it took them 8 months to cough up for it!

My visor broke a month and a half ago on my air fed mask, and I'm still waiting for a replacement after being promised loads of times! In the mean time I've been using a dust mask! I'm not one to moan. But it surely can't be doing me any good?

I would like to know where I stand? Do I go to the doctor and find out if it's having an affect on my health then take it up with my employer?

They tell that it's been ordered! Week passes and still nothing turns up.

Any advice would be appreciated
Never get into an argument with an idiot. i'll bring you down to my level and beat you with experience

Hoboh
Immortal
Immortal

Re: In two minds

Post by Hoboh » Wed May 04, 2016 10:15 am

I think it's one for the HSE but that isn't easy and fraught with pitfalls to yourself, one being you have a responsibility for your health and safety as well as the company and carrying on with known damaged equipment won't help you.
Always sounds good taking action to get a wrong put right but the stress and time scales are ridiculous, you do have my sympathy I was a welder in the 70's and we used cheap masks, the sh*t that came down the nose and up the throat still was unbelievable.